The Office of the Vice President for Research will honor six research faculty members from across the University of Michigan for their significant contributions and leadership in fields ranging from firearm injury prevention and multi-scale computation to Earth remote sensing and molecular imaging.

Alauddin Ahmed, Hugo Carreno-Luengo and Hsing-Fang Hsieh will receive the Research Faculty Recognition Award, while Jason Goldstick, Kathryn Luker and John Nees will receive the Research Faculty Achievement Award. All six will be recognized at the President’s Faculty Awards event this fall.

“The University of Michigan is uniquely positioned to address some of society’s most pressing and urgent needs, and this is due in large part to the dedication and commitment of our talented research faculty,” said Arthur Lupia, interim vice president for research and innovation.

“As leaders who are at the forefront in advancing research, scholarship and creative practice, our faculty are steadfast in their resolve to tackle complex challenges impacting communities across Michigan, the nation and globe.”

Jason Goldstick is a research associate professor in Michigan Medicine’s Department of Emergency Medicine, co-director of the Data and Methods Core at the Institute for Firearm Injury Prevention, and director of the statistics and methods section at the Injury Prevention Center. He is also a faculty affiliate member of the Opioid Research Institute.

He has led and contributed to high-impact research, most notably the first report that found firearm injuries are the leading cause of death among children and adolescents. His research interests include violence and substance-use epidemiology, overdose surveillance and estimating behavioral intervention treatment effects.

View the full announcement